Pre-Week Prep!

Every week, I try to take my weekends to prepare for the upcoming week and make sure I’m ready to make the most of the lessons The Lord has in store for us that week. These past couple of weekends have been packed, but a true blessing to spend so much time with some of the people that God has used to bless our lives.

Needless to say, due to our busy past couple of weekends, I haven’t been as ready and prepared as I would like to be when Monday comes around and we are starting a new unit/week. However, we have actually been able to get our 5 days of school done in just 4 days the past two weeks, so not having a lot of time to prep obviously hasn’t hindered us too much.

One thing that doesn’t take a lot of time and really helps me to know ahead of time what we will be studying, is my big DIY chalkboard. On Sunday nights, I fill out our weekly overview to reflect what we have going on for the upcoming week. This information includes what week/unit we are on, the current biblical character trait, the weekly memory verse, the bible verse for the current science lesson, and a list of the topics we will be covering in science and history.

This is an easy way to have a pretty good idea of what is going to happen for the week. I can feel prepared even if I haven’t had as much prep time as I would have liked. It also helps the girls out so they can know what to expect for the week. Having the memory verse on the big board is also great for helping them memorize it, since it’s so big it’s hard to miss!

IMG_5915.JPG

If you’re interested in making your own DIY chalkboard like mine, you can do it! The board itself only cost about $4 (plus the cost of chalkboard paint, but I already had that on hand). My chalkboard is made out of an 8×4 ft piece of MDF board from Home Depot. I just covered it in 3 coats of chalkboard paint and then literally just nailed it to the wall. Super easy!

One thought on “Pre-Week Prep!

Leave a Reply

