Goodbye Halloween, Hello Harvest!

The best season of the year, hands down, is Fall. This is of course only my humble opinion. I love the Fall because here in California, it’s when the very hot weather begins to cool down to enjoyable temperatures. I love all the beautiful colors of fall and all of the delicious flavors that come with it. I especially love that the fall brings the beginning of the holiday season.

The first of the holiday lineup is, of course, Halloween. Prior to this year, I have always enjoyed celebrating Halloween with my kids. Partly because it is also my birthday, but mostly because it was so fun to dress them up, and it brought back some of my favorite childhood memories. I had always been a lover of Halloween, spooky stories, scary movies, and of course — yup, you guessed it…candy! I mean, who doesn’t want free candy? There were even a couple of years that I declared October “horror movie marathon month” for my husband and I. Poor hubs. He wasn’t a big fan of scary movies like I was, but he went along with it anyway.

This year, the fall season is being celebrated (and even decorated in our home) much differently than past years. The Lord has enlightened me to some things that have convicted me on why we celebrate Halloween and where our focus should be instead. My husband has never been a big fan of Halloween, but with the direction The Lord has led us in the past couple of years, it has just solidified his feelings about the whole Halloween situation, and he has made the firm decision that Halloween will be no more for our family.

Here is a passage from the Bible that The Lord has impressed upon my heart regarding this:

“This is the message we have heard from him and proclaim to you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. If we say we have fellowship with him while we walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin.” 1 John 1:5-7

I can only speak for myself in humbly admitting that celebrating Halloween meant celebrating darkness, but I have only recently come to this admission. In the past, as a professing Christian, I had reasons that justified why it was okay for me to continue celebrating Halloween. I didn’t want to admit that it had anything to do with the darkness in this world. But I was lying to myself! It absolutely had everything to do with darkness. Right down to convincing my husband to participate in my horror movie marathon! Praise God for changing me and for His grace allowing me to see the truth in my life regarding this issue.

But just because we are setting aside all of the candy, costumes, and darkness of it all, doesn’t mean we can’t celebrate this beautiful time of year for purer reasons. After all, it is still my favorite season. God made the fall season, the harvest, and all of the natural goodness that comes with it, so it’s good to enjoy those sweet blessings and appreciate God’s creation — as we should with any other time of year…this just happens to be my favorite!

So this year we will forgo all of the usual Halloween hocus pocus and instead we will be enjoying the harvest months, the weather, the pumpkin patch, the apple farm, the beautifully colored trees, hay rides, etc. I am even enjoying bringing some fall cheer to our home with some inexpensive Fall decor.

I picked up a few little fall knick knacks from Hobby Lobby, including some wooden signs and a few little pumpkins. I found some cute $3 candle lanterns at Target, as well as a couple of mini straw dolls and a few $1 packs of fall-colored paper leaves. I attached the leaves to some twine and made a fall garland. And then I decorated my big chalkboard sign with a fun fall poem.

For the chalkboard, I searched all over the internet for the right poem or saying that would give glory to God for His creation of all things Fall, but I couldn’t find anything that seemed just right. So I settled on making up my own little rhyme for the board:

Autumn trees from God’s sweet grace,
Colorful leaves all over the place.
Pumpkins, hayrides, chilly air,
Harvest blessings everywhere.

Enjoy a few pictures of our Fall decor. It’s not much, but we definitely feel the fall cheer while we are at home!

IMG_6268.JPG

IMG_6267.JPG

IMG_6265.JPG

9 thoughts on “Goodbye Halloween, Hello Harvest!

  1. This is great, thanks so much for sharing! Our family has experienced the very same thing and just today pulled out all of our fall decorations and did some purging! We are excited to start new traditions to celebrate the Harvest…heading to the apple orchard in the morning! 🙂 Happy Fall!

    Like

    • How awesome! Praise God for the enlightenment, right? Have fun at the apple orchard. We just visited one yesterday with our homeschool group. Good times picking our own apples and learning about the apple harvest.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. First, you are super talented! I have loved ALL of your chalkboard pics! God has blessed you with a wonderful gift that you are using for His glory! 🙂
    Also, I haven’t done this in the past, but I’m thinking about sharing a bit about the Reformation with my children on Oct. 31. Here is a great Doorposts link: http://www.doorposts.com/details.aspx?id=46
    We have also used Oct. 31 as a time to focus, not on dressing up as super heroes, but on the heroes of our faith… http://ihavenogreaterjoy.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/super-heroes/
    We are definitely celebrating harvest and the Lord’s goodness at my house! Corn harvest has just been completed! Now for the rice and cotton! Then on to the soybeans! We serve an awesome God! What a wonderful time of year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

