My Story; His Glory

The Appointment

The month was December. I was 11 weeks pregnant with my first child.

My appointment was early in the morning and we would have to make the drive through rush hour a few towns over. We would need to leave early in order to make it on time. My sister was driving me to this important appointment.

We hurried out the door, got in the car, and made the drive up to the appointment.

Forty minutes later, we pulled up to the office building. It was small, I thought. Such a small building for this big appointment. We parked the car and went inside.

I walked up to the counter and signed myself in. The woman at the counter instructed me to have a seat and said someone would be with me shortly. So I sat with my sister and waited.

Only a few minutes’ time stood between me and the door where I would be called back for my “turn.” I could have changed my mind and ran out of the building, never looking back. But that thought never crossed my mind. I was sure this was what I wanted to do.

A while later, a woman opened the door to call the next patient. “Debbie.” That was me. It was my time. I walked up to the woman and she ushered me back, closing the door behind us.

…………………………

I’m not sure how long I was on the other side of that door. My memory is pretty blank from that moment up until the next memory I have from that day. I woke up, freezing cold, in a recovery bed. I was no longer 11 weeks pregnant. I wasn’t pregnant at all. It was all over. And my only feeling was that of relief.

The Aftermath

As I sit here today recalling the memories I have of my abortion, what hurts the most is not the details of the events from that day, but the details of how I felt that day — or, rather, how I didn’t feel that day. I had no remorse for what I had just done. I wouldn’t even realize the magnitude of what I had just done until years later.

I remember clearly how I viewed abortion during that time in my life. I had been in a bad relationship. I wound up pregnant because of my own stupidity, and all I could think about was the fact that I didn’t want to be tied to this person for the rest of my life. I didn’t want to have a child. I didn’t want my life to be changed forever by becoming a mother. I wasn’t ready for any of it, and I wanted this person out of my life. All I kept thinking about was me, me, me, me. Adoption wasn’t even a thought that crossed my mind. I just wanted the whole situation to go away. So it seemed pretty easy to arrange for that to happen.

Today I sit here 13 ½ years later and I grieve over what I’ve done. I wish I had the sense back then to realize that this wasn’t just a problem I was solving. That was a precious child — a precious life. That was my child I arranged to have murdered. That was my child that I threw away. And that was my child that I chose not to allow to take a single breath in his or her life. It was as simple as filling out some papers, paying $70, walking in pregnant, and coming out with it all behind me…

Or so I thought.

This will never be behind me. I will live with this decision for the rest of my life. I think of my first baby often, and I realize I don’t even have the right to call him or her mine. I don’t deserve that right.

The What-Ifs

I know I can never do anything to change the past, but my mind often goes back to the what-ifs. What if I chose LIFE? What if I had someone there to stop me and tell me what the future would be like? What if someone told me that I would remember this baby years from then, and that the ugly, disgusting, evil reality of abortion would slap me in the face one day when I grew up? What if someone explained to me that this was a human life, created by God, in His image, and I was allowing him or her to be murdered?

“For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139:13

What if I stopped to consider that I would LOVE this child more than I ever could imagine? What if I knew that this would all make indescribably painful sense one day when I had children that I actually wanted and realized the beauty and value of a human life that started in my own womb?

Restored by Hope

It saddens me to think that at the time of my abortion, I believed I was a Christian. I had raised my hand in church and said the sinner’s prayer probably a dozen times by that point. I thought one of those times it had to have worked. I convinced myself that the abortion would be okay because I could always ask for forgiveness later. Well, after the abortion I did talk to my own made up little god in my head and asked for forgiveness…many times, in fact. However, there was no real repentance; no evidence of me turning from my sin or that God had changed my heart, resulting in a changed life.

In the next three years that followed, I met my husband and got married. We had a rocky start to our marriage. Despite separating literally every 6 months for the first 3 years of marriage, and completely by God’s grace, we managed to have two daughters of our own in the first 2 years of marriage, then went on to have a third daughter years later, and we are currently expecting our first son. In the early years of our marriage, I went about life believing I was a Christian, saying my prayers and going to church here and there. The interesting thing about it was that I never read the Bible, and yet I believed I knew God and had a close relationship with Him. I knew the god the world told me about, and that was good enough for me. I liked this little god; he didn’t require much of me. The trouble with this little god was that he couldn’t forgive me for my abortion. I still lived under the guilt and shame of my past, and no matter how many times I asked for forgiveness, the guilt and shame never went away. I was sure this little god could never forgive me and that I was destined for hell because of what I’d done.

Fast-forward to two years ago, 11 years after the abortion and 8 years into my marriage. By the grace of God, my family started attending a church regularly and I began to really read the Bible for the first time in my life. I attended a women’s summer Bible study through my church. I remember carefully and prayerfully choosing which Bible study I should sign up for, out of the several that were being offered that summer. I chose the Virtuous Woman study, based on the Proverbs 31 woman. I had my own ideas and expectations of what I wanted to get out of this study, but God had other plans. I believe it was during that study that God saved me.

One night during my study, I came to a part in my Bible reading of the book of John where it took me through the story of the Samaritan Woman. This particular part of the study also pointed me to a portion of the book of John, where I read about Jesus’ crucifixion and His death. I remember reading John 19:30, “When Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, ‘It is finished,’ and He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.” That one single verse just hit me like a ton of bricks. For the very first time, my eyes were opened and I was able to see who I was before a Holy God. I was broken before the Lord, grieving over my sin and what it cost Jesus, while at the same time overwhelmed by the grace and love that He would give to a sinner like me. By God’s grace I was able to finally put my faith in Jesus Christ and accept forgiveness for my sin. I bowed my head in tears and laid it all at the foot of the cross. The guilt. The shame. I finally knew that I was forgiven. Not only for the abortion, but every sinful way in me. I was a new creation in Christ, ready and willing to live a life devoted to Him in love, gratitude, and worship of my King.

“…but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

 “Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.” Ezekiel 36:26

“Then Jesus said to His disciples, ‘If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross and follow Me.'” Matthew 16:24 

“So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.” Romans 6:11

I was born again…FORGIVEN! I was restored to a right relationship with God for eternity by the power of His infinite love and mercy, and I finally knew that my sins had been washed away forever.

It is Finished

The main, life-changing thing I realized that night was that Jesus paid it all, and His finished work on the cross was enough to cover my sin. The meaning of that finally hit me. “It is FINISHED.” I had lived for years thinking that God could never truly forgive me for what I had done. That night I realized that in thinking God could never forgive me for my abortion, I was essentially saying that Jesus’ death on the cross wasn’t enough to cover my sin. I was so wrong. His grace and love are far greater than my sin.

Coming out and sharing my story publicly isn’t easy. But when the Lord granted me repentance and brought me to Truth, I started to learn about the sovereignty of God and how that ties in to my past. I know He has a plan for my story and that doesn’t involve keeping it to myself.

As ugly as abortion is and as horrific as it is to now understand the reality of my actions, I know that God is sovereign in all of it, and that gives me hope because I know that He has a greater plan and a purpose for what happened.

 And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

Everything works out one way or another for the glory of God and for the good of His children. I believe the Lord wants to use my story to bring glory to His name and to touch the lives of other girls or women who might be in a similar situation. It is my hope and my prayer that by sharing my story, it might help other women think differently about abortion and that anyone who reads this and is considering abortion might think twice about the tiny precious life inside of them. I didn’t see my pregnancy as a life inside of me. I saw it as a problem that I could easily get rid of. It doesn’t work that way. Even as I sit here forgiven and free from the guilt and shame, I will always grieve over the child I will never get to meet in this life because of my selfish and sinful decision.

I wish I had someone there in December 2001 to tell me all of these things. I didn’t. Not one person warned me about the reality of abortion. Not a single person tried to help me understand what I was about to do. I hope and pray to be that person for someone else.

I know that God sovereignly decreed for all of this to happen for a bigger purpose. I am forever grateful for His grace and mercy, and I give my life and my story to Him, that He might use it however He wills.

The Good News

I pray that my story is ultimately useful in sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ and the hope, salvation, and freedom from guilt and sin that can only be found in Him. If you’ve been living in unrepentant sin, or if you’ve been weighed down by some sin that has you plagued with guilt, know this: You are not alone. Every one of us is is a sinner in need of THE Savior.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,” -Romans 3:23.

Even though we are sinners who deserve hell for sinning against a holy God, God in His infinite love and mercy has provided a way for us to be reconciled to Him. He provided a Savior — His son, the Lord Jesus Christ, who lived a perfectly sinless life and died on the cross, suffering the wrath of God for the sins of all those who will turn from their sin and trust in Him. Three days later, Christ defeated death and rose from the grave. Now we can turn to him in faith, die to our old self, and be raised to new life in Christ.

God commands us to turn from our sin and put our faith in Christ alone for forgiveness and salvation. If we turn to God and put our faith in Christ, we are saved and born again, restored to a right relationship with God our Father for eternity. All of our sins are imputed to Christ who has already paid the penalty for those sins, but it doesn’t stop there. Christ’s righteousness is imputed to us, so when God sees us, He doesn’t see a sinner, He sees His Son. This is the reality for all who repent and believe in the Lord Jesus Christ.

If you have never put your faith in Christ for forgiveness of sins, I urge you to do that today. Your eternal soul depends on it.

“Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” -Romans 15:13

7 thoughts on “My Story; His Glory

  1. Oh friend. And look what love has done. Beautiful testimony of God’s grace and mercy and of the humility we see in a child of God. You are such an inspiration and encouragement. I am so blessed to call you friend. Thank you for sharing your story for His glory. ❤️

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing this! I love your Instagram because I love seeing other believers in Christ using their talents to glorify God. You always make it a point to share that lettering and calligraphy is not just a fun hobby or side job, but that you want to do it and use it for the glory of God! Thank you for being a great example in that. Thank you also for your honesty and transparency in sharing how God brought you to true, saving faith in His Son Jesus Christ!!! Hallelujah, what a Savior we have who takes our sin upon Himself so that we can become righteous and sons and daughters of God! Thank you for sharing not only how God worked in you personally, but also for giving such a clear gospel invitation! God has forgiven us much and therefore we love much! ‘As such WERE some of you’ but now we are forgiven, set apart, and someday will see Jesus face to face in all His glory! Like another poster said, I know someday you will be reunited with your little boy or girl and it will be a sweet reunion, because Jesus Himself will wipe every year from our eyes. Thanks again!!

    Like

  3. Debbie, I know this is an older post, but I’m just now reading it (came to your blog through Instagram). I want to thank you for your willingness to be open about your life in these areas and for sharing about God’s glory in your salvation. It’s a beautiful story. I also appreciated your recent Instagram post about your pastor’s New Year’s Day sermon — thanks for taking the opportunity to pass along the truth and encouragement he shared. I love expository preaching, and I love that topical messages from expositors are so meaty! Walk faithfully, dear sister, and keep shining your light in whatever venue (small or large) the Lord provides.

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing your testimony 💜. Eventhough we may not understand it, God can use any circumstance for His good. You may already know about pregnancy care center, but if not I think you would be a great blessing to the women, like you, who feel that abortion is the only way.

    Like

  5. Thank you for your honesty and vulnerability. I have a similar story except when I went in for the abortion they couldn’t see the baby yet and told me to come back in a week. I never went back and now have a 9 year old son. God will work all things for His glory. I pray your story will be heard by some woman who needs to hear it. You are saving lives! God bless.

    Like

  6. I have enjoyed following your IG feed for a while but I didn’t realize you also had a blog. I admire your incredible hand lettering and how you use your gift to bring glory to God. Now after reading this post I admire you in such a more profound way. Your courage, boldness and pure honesty is a blessing to say the least – not to just those who have been in your shoes but those of us that struggle with the guilt and shame from other sins as well. Thank you for your post. God bless you and your family!

    Like

Leave a Reply

